As my adventure went on, I was led to the Rustorbo City gym where I knew I would get a chance to test my skills with the toughest trainer the city has to offer. I enter the gym to get a glimpse of what I’ll be up against. Fossils, ambers and bones of different sizes filled the gym. I could tell it was a rock type gym because of its theme. The attendant greeted me and confirmed what I had earlier just speculated, it was indeed a Rock-type gym, which meant KungFu Chick wouldn’t be much help getting through this one.

Before I took on the gym, I decided to go exploring a little bit more. Going east led me to Route 116. I encountered new trainers which I beat off easily with KungFu Chick’s type advantage. I decided to pick up a new Pokemon, the first one I could find was a Nincada. Wurmie handily weakened it, not after too long I was welcoming a new member of the group. “Mini Ipis” I called him, a fine addition to my team as I hope to someday evolve a Shedinja from him.

Knowing what I was up against, I took some time to train in the tall grass hoping that Wurmie would learn a Grass-type attack soon. Before long Wurmie began evolving from a small Wurmple into a Cascoon. A few more trainer battles later, Wurmple was again evolving into a Beautifly.

Even as a fully evolved Pokemon (my first in this game) I still wasn’t confident enough to send Wurmie against the gym leader. It was when Wurmie learned Absorb that I felt it was finally go-time.

Three minor trainers blocked the way but they posed no threat to Wurmie and her Absorbs. One by one my team and I downed them. As I faced the gym leader Roxanne, I was confident that Wurmie was my key to a clear victory.

Gym Leader Battle: Roxanne

Gym Leader Pokemon: Geodude, Nosepass

Without hesitation I sent out Wurmie, brimming with confidence this would be an easy fight. Roxanne sent out her Geodude. Both Pokemon were of the same level but I knew I had the upper hand because of typing. Immediately I went in for the kill, “ABSORB” and before it could even move, Geodude was knocked out. Good job, Wurmie!

She then sends in Nosepass. I was sure that it would end up the same way again. Immediately I sent Wurmie to attack with another ABSORB. It was super effective! But Nosepass stood its ground. I began thinking of how to go about my next moves when suddenly, the opposing Nosepass unleashed its ROCK TOMB. In an instant, Wurmie was buried beneath the rocks. Knocked out, gone, all because of my arrogance. It was devastating.

But there was little time to mourn Wurmie’s loss. She shall be avenged but first I had to get out of this battle alive.

Knowing I no longer had the type advantage, I called on Ziggydawg to lay some traps. Ziggydawg used SAND ATTACK to better evade Nosepass’ hard hits, but a TACKLE still got through. Ziggydawg was hurt bad but I just had to have faith that the sand would blind Nosepass just enough to survive. Nosepass started buffing with HARDEN as I had Ziggydawg continue pouring in the sand, until another ROCK TOMB managed to hit, knocking Ziggydawg out. Goodbye my friend, you did your part well.

I was getting desperate now, but risking my starter KungFu Chick would be meaningless at this point. Spit wasn’t going to fare any better either, so I just went with my gut and threw out Mini Ipis. Nosepass again tried to TACKLE but fortunately all the sand Ziggydawg threw at him is paying off. All Mini Ipis had to do was LEECH LIFE from Nosepass a little at a time. It was barely hurting Nosepass, but it was all Mini Ipis could do, LEECH LIFE, dodge, LEECH LIFE, avoid, LEECH LIFE, avoid. Eventually Nosepass was visibly weakened but Mini Ipis was too tired to use LEECH LIFE again. With all my fingers crossed, I sent Mini Ipis on a scary mission, TACKLE, avoid, TACKLE, avoid, TACKLE, avoid, Nosepass was knocked out!

By the skin of our teeth we survived but not without casualties.

Roxanne proceeds to congratulate me, but my thoughts are with my fallen Pokemon. She awards me with a badge which would let higher level Pokemon follow me even outside of battle. I didn’t really care, I wanted Wurmie and Ziggydawg back.

GYM LEADER BATTLE WON!

Badge earned: Boulder badge

Pokemon lost: Wurmie, Ziggydawg

As I left the gym, I hurried to the nearest Pokecenter. There I laid my Pokemon to rest in the GRAVEYARD. You have served me well, my dear friends. Until we meet again.

When I left the Pokecenter, a man in a red get up zoomed past me. I followed him to the direction of Rustuf Tunnel where some miners complained that he was disrupting their work. I went in to see what I could make of it. It was pitch black inside the tunnel but I could barely make out the figure of the man I saw run in. Slowly I crept toward him until we were face to face. In a panic he threw out a Pokemon, but was no match for KungFu Chick. We made quick work of him and he ran out of the tunnel in sheer terror. As I turned my attention back onto the tunnel, I noticed a small Winggul on the floor. I wondered who it belonged to so I picked it up and brought it out of the tunnel with me. To my surprise a man ran toward me and just picked up the Pokemon in my arms. He then turned away and left.

Little did I know that man would be the key to continuing my adventure.

Adventure started on 11/21/2014

ID No.: 33991

Date: 11/21/2014

Trainer: Toby

Pokemon added: Mini Ipis (Nincada)

Pokemon in party: Kungfu Chick Lv. 19, Spit Lv. 15, Mini Ipis Lv. 11

Number of badges: 1

Play time: 3:37

Graveyard: Wurmie, Ziggydawg

Leave a Reply

